What makes you happy?

Lately, I’ve been contemplating on this question:

What makes me happy?

It’s been awhile since I’ve had the opportunity to actually be able to do whatever I want to do. I have to say, It’s a little trippy when you’re so used to always having something to do either for work, school, church, or for others. I didn’t think it would be difficult but it is a little bit hard to grasp the concept that I can do whatever I want to do that makes me happy.

I’m still working on figuring it out but so far, these are a few of things that makes me happy…

Everything that involves my hubby. No matter how bad my day is, a simple & genuine hug & a kiss from him just melts it all away.

I’m a pretty affectionate person. I believe in taking every opportunity to express love. Holding hands in the car, in a restaurant, or even at church makes me pretty happy.

I love to laugh. Humor is the best medicine for a grumpy Gracie.

Pretty things like peony flowers makes me happy. They are just so beautiful!

Thanks to my husband, I have fallen in love with longboarding.

I would be a fool if I don’t add this to the list. I still love being a kid- I love playing video games & watching anime. Don’t hate. 

I love getting pampered. Fresh nails makes me feel pretty.

Doing things I’ve never done before like Parasailing. That was exhilarating! Next stop, skydiving.

Give me the beach, a sketchpad, and a bunch of colorful pencils/ crayons. I will be satisfied.

This might sound pretty wifey but I love making lunch/dinner for my husband (or for anybody). I suppose I did inherit my mom’s touch in cooking after all.

I love being active. Sometimes it’s tough to get started when you overwhelm yourself with “other” things you have to do. Just take a deep breath & JUST DO IT! You’ll feel so much better afterwards & you’ll have more energy.

I love being clever & witty. Brian tells me it’s one of the traits he loves about me ❤

My faith gets me through any day. It gives me such joy & happiness- words can’t describe.

Dance. The only thing I would do for hours without ever looking at the time. Whenever I dance, that’s when I feel very happy that I don’t dare to stop.

I found this very inspiring. I like to make a list of everything and so an ABC list of happiness works for me 🙂

In the end, the lesson I’m trying to learn is that it’s OKAY to give time to yourself once in awhile. Do whatever you want to do that makes you happy. Don’t worry about what people might say or think. It’s your life. 

|Grace|

Express Yourself

